Claude Fable 5.1: Benchmarks, Pricing & Access (2026)
Anthropic released Claude Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 on Sept 1, 2026. Pricing holds at $10/$50, cache reads cut 75% to $0.25. Benchmarks and pricing inside.
On September 1, 2026, Anthropic announced Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1. Input/output pricing holds at $10 / $50 per 1M tokens, while cache-read pricing drops to $0.25 per 1M tokens (a 75% cut). The API model ID is claude-fable-5-1, available via Claude.ai, the API, Claude Code, and AWS / Google Cloud / Microsoft Azure.
What Claude Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 Are
Like Claude Fable 5 and Mythos 5 from June 2026, Claude Fable 5.1 is the publicly available version with safeguards intact. Claude Mythos 5.1 is the same base model with relaxed safeguards, offered through a US-only access program for vetted cybersecurity and life-sciences experts. Both are framed as a minor version bump (5 → 5.1) rather than the structural tier change Anthropic introduced in June.

What Changed
The official announcement highlights improvements in:
- Coding and knowledge work
- Reasoning on long-running tasks (accuracy across multi-step, sustained agentic execution)
- Scientific research (molecular design and computational biology)
- Task verification for agentic work (checking its own outputs)
- Writing quality
There is no deprecation announcement for the prior Fable 5 / Mythos 5 models. Existing workflows don't need to switch immediately — teams can evaluate the benchmark and cost impact before migrating.
Benchmarks: Fable 5 vs. Fable 5.1
These are the benchmark scores published in the official announcement. The largest gains are on Terminal-Bench-Science and Terminal-Bench 4.0, pointing to stronger performance on long-running scientific and terminal-driven agentic tasks.
| Benchmark | Fable 5 | Fable 5.1 |
|---|---|---|
| Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1 | 24.7% | 52.6% |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 42.0% | 55.8% |
| CursorBench 3.2.0 | 70.5% | 73.4% |
| OSWorld 2.0 (strict) | 36.1% | 41.7% |
| Humanity's Last Exam (with tools) | 63.8% | 65.0% |
The context window length is not stated in the official announcement. If you're designing around token limits, check the latest Claude API Docs before committing to a figure.
Pricing and Availability
Per-token input/output pricing is unchanged from Fable 5, but the sharp cut to cache-read pricing lowers real-world costs. Anthropic states this yields roughly 25% savings on typical workloads and up to 45% on agentic use cases. Tools that lean heavily on prompt caching, such as Claude Code, stand to benefit the most.
| Item | Fable 5 | Fable 5.1 |
|---|---|---|
| Input price (per 1M tokens) | $10 | $10 (unchanged) |
| Output price (per 1M tokens) | $50 | $50 (unchanged) |
| Cache-read price | Prior rate | $0.25 (75% cut) |
| Access | Claude.ai / API / Claude Code / AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure | Same |
| API model ID | claude-fable-5 | claude-fable-5-1 |
How to Use It
Claude Fable 5.1 is available through Claude.ai (model picker), the API (specify model ID claude-fable-5-1), Claude Code, and all three major clouds — AWS Bedrock, Google Cloud Vertex AI, and Microsoft Azure. Existing code and prompts can typically migrate by swapping the model ID.
Claude Mythos 5.1 is not generally available. It's offered only through a vetted access program for cybersecurity and life-sciences experts, limited to US organizations. The announcement does not detail the application or vetting process, so eligible organizations should contact Anthropic directly.
How Fable 5.1 Differs From Fable 5
| Aspect | Claude Fable 5 | Claude Fable 5.1 |
|---|---|---|
| Announced | June 9, 2026 | September 1, 2026 |
| Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1 | 24.7% | 52.6% |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 42.0% | 55.8% |
| CursorBench 3.2.0 | 70.5% | 73.4% |
| Input/output pricing | $10 / $50 | $10 / $50 (unchanged) |
| Cache-read pricing | Prior rate | $0.25 (75% cut) |
| Cost impact | — | ~25% typical, up to 45% agentic |
| Context window | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
On paper, Fable 5.1 reads as a near price cut disguised as a version bump — same per-token rate, better benchmarks, and a much cheaper cache-read tier. For agentic workloads that lean on caching, the total-cost impact can be significant even without a headline price change. It's also worth revisiting how Fable 5.1 fits alongside other tiers like Claude Opus 5 and Claude Sonnet 5 now that the cost structure has shifted.
FAQ
What's the context window for Claude Fable 5.1?
The official announcement doesn't specify it. For design and cost estimates, check the latest model listing in the Claude API Docs rather than assuming a figure.
Does moving from Fable 5 to 5.1 cost more?
No. Input and output pricing stays at $10 / $50 per 1M tokens. Cache-read pricing actually drops 75% to $0.25, so cache-heavy workloads should see lower real-world costs.
Can anyone access Claude Mythos 5.1?
No. It's limited to vetted cybersecurity and life-sciences experts through a US-only access program. It is not generally available.
Is Fable 5 being retired?
The announcement includes no deprecation notice for the older models. As of September 1, 2026, no end-of-life date has been given for Fable 5, so migration timing is left to each team's own evaluation.
Feel free to contact us
Contact Us